Thankfully, a Google Maps update has been released, creating a new feature for forgetful people like me. This new feature will let Android and iOS users to share their real-time location with friends and family in a controlled manner.
To share your current location, open the side menu or tape the blue dot that represents where you are. Then you tap on the "Share location" option, and finally you select which of your family, friends or other contacts you want to inform where you are, and how long you want to share that location info.
An improvement on merely taking a photo of nearby markers is that Google Maps will send you a notification indicating that the location has been saved. Then, you can chose who to share your location with - and for how long.
Do you ever park in a lot and return hours later only to find that you have no idea where in the labyrinth you left your vehicle?
The Alphabet subsidiary had already launched its own proactive parking saving ability through Google Now, however, it had worked by tapping the mobile device's sensors and making a determination that you had most likely parked your auto at a given spot. With more than a billion users, it's become a tool for local recommendations, real-time info on how busy a restaurant is, and a cheat sheet to remember where you parked your auto.
Once the parking location of the vehicle has been set, a letter "P" icon will appear on the map, indicating where the auto is located. Now it wants to help your friends know where you are.
European banks launder millions from Russian Federation
The bank said it has systems in place to monitor transactions, flagging those that may be suspicious. Barclays said it "complies with the rules and regulations in all the jurisdictions".
But the new feature could also put Google in a tough spot if people use it to remotely stalk others.
In the most recent beta version of the Android app Google added an upgrade to the parking feature.
Smartphones make it impossible to lose your phone, but now Google is looking to ensure you can't lose something considerably bigger: your vehicle.
So if you're running late to dinner, you can share your location so that the rest of your party can see where you are on your route. Plus, if you've ever had to race the meter maid back to your auto to avoid a ticket, then you'll love the timer part of the feature. Additionally, you always have the option of ending sharing whenever you want, and you'll always know when you're sharing your location with someone.
User can also use the feature to allow authorized people to follow them if they are making a trip to specified destination.
That's, of course, a lot of steps to share your location.